TOSECdev Forum

TOSEC Project => General Discussion => Topic started by: ^VoiD on April 19, 2018, 10:16:41 PM

Title: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 19, 2018, 10:16:41 PM
Hi all,

I'm absolutely at my wits end with this, I keep coming back to it from time to but just cannot solve it. I trawled what seems to be endless websites, and although I can find info or posts that touch on this issue, I cannot find anything that solves my particular problem.

In a nutshell, I'm having bother trying to rebuild my entire TOSEC (Main Branch) set from scratch, to a different folder using CMPro, I can do most of it, but it fails right at the end ...


What I 'm trying to do ...

Rebuild the entire TOSEC Main Branch set from scratch using what I currently have (100%), other than to learn it myself for future reference, it's now become something of a vendetta given how much bother it's given me just to do this, also, TorrentCheck is showing I have nearly 70GB of excess files, so it would also be handy to also get that back. Given all this, a full rebuild from scratch seems the best option, and it can't harm to freshen every thing up.


This is what I can do ...

I have created my new directory and used the 2 scripts off the TOSEC website, the first to create all the directories and the sub folders, and the second to move all the .dats to their respective folders, so far so good ...

But that's when the wheels fall off, I drop all of the .dats into CMPro, go to the 'profiler', tag them all, and load them all, I next see the CMPro 'Profile Batchrun' window. I have been over the 3 tabs (Scanner, Rebuilder and Misc) more times than I care to remember, but something just isn't right. Every time I start the process CMPro does starting pulling all the roms from the old folders correctly, but instead of putting them into their respective folders in the new TOSEC directory, it dumps them all into the new TOSEC root folder? As soon as I notice this I stop the process, I then go and make a few changes and try again, but still the same?

What have I missed? What am I not doing right? While I still have some hair left :/

Please no suggestions of RomVault, whilst I appreciate this is also a good ROM manager and some people swear by it, I've used CMPro for many many years, it handles all my other collections just fine and don't really want to confuse myself even more if I can help it, besides I did try to use it not long back, but it just kept crashing on me :\


So that't me, there must be other avid CMPro users out there that can do what I'm trying to achieve with little effort? It just doesn't seem to to work for me.

Can anyone help me please? You really have no idea how grateful and chuffed I would be to finally nail this.

All help, however small is really appreciated


Regards

Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on April 20, 2018, 12:12:28 AM
Yeah. Me too. I used CMP for many years.

Why really you want to suffer?
"Please no suggestions of RomVault, whilst I appreciate this is also a good ROM manager and some people swear by it, I've used CMPro for many many years, it handles all my other collections just fine and don't really want to confuse myself even more if I can help it, besides I did try to use it not long back, but it just kept crashing on me :\"
Well... USE RV.
You move the whole DAT folder structure you made, in DATroot.
You throw all existing TOSEC in ROMroot OR ToShort.
You click first button. It scans all dats.
You click second button. It scans both ROMroot and ToShort to know what it's got.
You click third button. It finds the matches.
You click fourth button. It makes the fixes, cleans up ROMroot to have a proper TOSEC structure, deletes what is uneeded (actually puts it in ToShort in case you need them for something else).
DONE (and already torrentzipped on the side).

Now if you want to torture yourself, be my guest.
Feel free to use RV for this and then get back to CMP. I am sure CMP will forgive your disloyalty.
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: tomse on April 20, 2018, 08:23:17 AM
It seems the question is more suited for the developer of CMPRO.

My guess is that TOSEC has become larger than what CMPRO can handle thus the crash.

this isn't a solution, but you can try and split the systems into each it's own CMPRO installation
or take a small portion at a time.
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Maddog on April 20, 2018, 09:01:45 AM
The answer seems to be hiding in our forum actually. I was able to find it only after a few seconds of Google-fu: https://www.tosecdev.org/forum/tosec-tools/clrmame-how-to-'batch-setting'-the-rom-paths/
(check the post by user Cr3tyl)

Note: I have not personally tried this. While I do use ClrMAME Pro for all my other dats, I far prefer RomVault for TOSEC, as it makes updating TOSEC a breeze. On that I totally agree with NLS. Do give it a chance. We all love our CMPro, but admittedly the interface isn't exactly well documented or easy to use, at least for this type of usage.
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on April 20, 2018, 09:30:23 AM
You are using x64 version of CMP?


Actually I don't use CMP any more (still update it though).


- Gruby. RV works great.
- TOSEC (main, ISO, PIX). We said already. Perfect.
- trurip. Well superdats kind of suck, it worked, but I am moving away from trurip anyway.
- redump. Pending evaluation.
- Amiga firmware. Perfect.
- UnExotica. Fine.
- WHDLoad. Works nice, although it does torrentzip the folders that I want extracted (so I just re-extract after fixing).


ALL the above are branches on the same tree, ticking and unticking on demand (to save some time when scanning files, no other reason).
Collections "auto" help other collections fill (for common files).


For all these, same 4 button process. ONCE.
Can't be much easier than that.
I remember the CMP process.

Ah...

- MAME. I actually don't use any ROM manager for that any more. I have perfect sets from PD, cleaned with torrentcheck and filled to 100% completion afterwards (which in practice -again: PRACTICE- IS the same as building in a ROM manager and then completing the torrents - only WAY faster).



Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 21, 2018, 01:15:33 PM
Thanks for the replies all,

I've got a couple things mentioned here to try, and if RV really is as easy as mentioned, I best give that another try.

And yes, I'm using the x64 version of CMP


Thanks all

Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 01:57:47 AM
Well I'm beat, I followed your guide NLS, but RV appears to have made things 10 times worse ...

To cut a long and tedious story short that consists of RV, complete exhaustion and literally losing the will to live, I was following your guide, and it was going well, up until the part that attempts to fix the files.

RV got stuck at 10% and it stayed there for nearly 20 hours ... Given I have a capable decent fast PC, I considered that nearly 20 hours with no movement past 10% to be wrong. Bottom line is, after stopping RV, I now have 1 folder with the Acorn, Tandy and Texas Instruments folders that contain most (if not all) of the ROMs for them sets, and I have another folder (RomVault/ToSort) that contains ALL the rest of the TOSEC roms in .zip format and NO folder structure to be found, anywhere.

I've tried reasoning with RV, but it just doesn't seem interested anymore.

Can anyone give me a complete doofus guide to RV and how I can now get all my ROMs back into their respective TOSEC folders please? I don't doubt for one minute that for a lot of you this will be a cake walk and you'll think I'm a complete idiot. I know it's going to be something along the lines of creating all the folder structure again (I can do this easily) and then getting RV (or 1 by 1 with CMP) to move all the files back to their folders, but I just don't use RV so I'm not familiar with it, to be fair it may as well be written in Japanese :\


As per, any help is greatly appreciated ...



Regards

Stef


Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 02:51:53 AM
All,

I've (tried to) attach a picture to this post which may make my issue a bit more clearer ...


If you can see the pic, it shows that the fix got as far as, and completed the Acorn Archimedes / Application roms, as shown in green as now complete. But that's it, it's stopped there and got stuck?

It sat like this for just under 20 hours, hence I stopped it.



Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Maddog on April 22, 2018, 07:29:15 AM
I have previously posted a relatively detailed guide on RomVault for TOSEC usage here (https://www.tosecdev.org/forum/general-discussion-3/batch-files-in-the-scripts-folder-to-do-what-you-want/). Read this in case it gives you some more insight.
I think it is superior to NLS's version, since it doesn't force you to put every rom into Romroot or ToSort directory. Sorry NLS!  ;)

It is not very clear from your post if you actually got stuck in the "Scan Roms" stage or the "Fix Roms" stage.
If the delay was in the "Scan Roms" stage, it might even be normal as the first pass for that on something as massive as a complete TOSEC takes literally many hours. If the delay was in the "Fix Roms" stage, it probably is abnormal as there's obvious and more continuous activity on this stage. Also, if you have fiddled with the settings page, use Scanning Level 2 and Fixing Level Torrentzip Level 2. I think these are the defaults anyway but mention it just in case, since level 3 is incredibly slow.

One thing I would propose: since you are not familiar with the program, try first will a smaller subset of TOSEC. Pick a part with several roms, but not too many (eg Amstrad) and see if it completes successfully. Or if your roms are now all together, just pick a subset of about 10000 files and put it into To Sort dir, while keeping the rest temporarily in a dir that RomVault will not scan (ie, not inside To Sort or inside your ROM path). If it does complete successfully, you can continue with additional and possibly incrementally larger parts because now you have an idea of how long it takes to process a given number of files on your specific machine. If it doesn't complete, then quite obviously something is wrong with the setup. Let us know of your results. :)
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: tomse on April 22, 2018, 09:09:04 AM
I can only guess you're trying to collect the whole TOSEC which has a lot of entries.

If you do as I suggested, by adding things to ToSort in portions and not everything at once, you'll have more control
of what's happening.  Suggested is to take one system at a time.

Make note that I recently remade my database for Commodore, ISO/Commodore, PIX/Commodore which took
some 20+ hours (mostly because of all the ISO's, and it's need to extraction, and re-compression).

Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 12:19:24 PM
Thanks for the replies ...

Sorry I forgot to say that it got stuck at 10% when trying to fix the ROMs, the other stages prior to his ran fine.

It got to 10% on the fixing stage quite quickly, then stopped there. Had I seen anything happening at all, I would have left it going, but as it had been at this same position for so long and there was no activity from the HD LED on my tower, I felt nothing was actually happening anymore.

Maddog, I'm now going to go through your detailed guide, will let you know what happens. I'm off out soon to a BBQ and won't be back to the wee hours of the morning, this should give it plenty of time to do it's stuff ...


Thanks again

Stef

Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 12:43:19 PM
Just hit 'Fix ROMs' and I've got this (screenshot attached)


Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 12:45:40 PM
I pressed 'OK' and it's now showing 'Complete' but at 85% of the Acorn stuff (screenshot below).

As it says 'Complete' instead of 'Fixing' at the top of the window, one assumes it's now stopped?


I'm going to try to run it again ...



Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 12:52:50 PM
Ok, well I *think* it somehow stopped during the original scanning of the .dat folder, I've run the scan again and it says there are 4646 left to process, which would explain this. I also noticed that it seemed to stop in a hurry when it was scanning the .dats the first time around.

Whether it stopped because it fell over or I inadvertently stopped it who knows, but it seems to be back on track again ...


Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Maddog on April 22, 2018, 01:32:23 PM
I pressed 'OK' and it's now showing 'Complete' but at 85% of the Acorn stuff (screenshot below).

As it says 'Complete' instead of 'Fixing' at the top of the window, one assumes it's now stopped?

Yes, it has stopped. The sure way to tell it has stopped is that the "Cancel" button on the right  becomes "Close".

Just hit 'Fix ROMs' and I've got this (screenshot attached)

For the program to function correctly, it is important to always and only hit the buttons in the expected order. Ie first Scan Roms, second Find Fixes, third Fix Roms. I have never seen this error message, but one possibility that caused this is that you manually removed the file named Acorn Archimedes - Applications (TOSEC v2013-10-16_CM).zip before hitting the Fix Files button but after hitting the previous buttons. RomVault uses a kind of cache for identified files and it probably got confused when not finding a file it previously identified.

Also while we are at it: What are the contents of this file? Is it all the roms packed together in one zip? If that's the case, probably explains the terrible delay. As far as I know, RomVault will move the rom it knows to its' correct place and then try to repack the zip without the single ROM it moved, before going to the next rom. So if the file contains 1000 roms, it will probably cause 1000 repacks of the large container zip file before it has put everything in place. If you have your roms like that, please unpack them. They work much better as individual zips or even as unzipped files (RV will zip them up and torrentzip them too).
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 22, 2018, 03:54:51 PM
I've just nipped back from the BBQ to get more beer :| ... checked on this and it appears to have stopped towards the end of BBC (pic attached), everything below that is red. Funnily enough, as you mentioned it, I was also thinking that I wonder if it's because the ROMs are zipped up.

They are zipped up and in .zip files ... and this was how they were in the torrent I joined yonks ago. I've now left me PC unzipping everything that's been moved to the 'ToSort' folder, and that will take an age, so I'll check that when I get home later :)


Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on April 23, 2018, 08:05:22 AM
Oh wow. This is what happens with a weekend not checking a forum. :D


I am gonna reply to things as I read them...


^VoiD
- Definitely 10% for 20 hours is out of the question. :)
- Seeing your pic, indeed seems it went on finishing a folder and then stopped (froze?). Never seen this before. In your place I would just reclick "Fix ROMs".
Maddog
- I suspect your guide is better. :P
Maddog/tomse
- Good advice on braking things down to easily fix, but I can verify I have tested with full non-ISO and works fine.
^VoiD
- 10% can reach pretty fast if it goes through small ROMs. Fix percentage seems to not be related to file sizes.
- In the shot where it says it is missing a file in ToSort, seems that something happened that a file that was there during scan got removed without informing RV (possibly when it got stuck). You would need to re-scan ROMs I guess.
- Complete looks ok ("Close" instead of "Cancel"), the missing bar is possibly the file you miss.
- About the variable speed some things happen. Note that RV caches dat and file status, so whatever is already parsed, goes through fast.
(erm Maddog already says much of this... stupid that I reply as I read, instead of reading the whole thread first)
- One thing that I suggest is to NOT have archives in archives. Makes things so much tougher for RV (and everybody).
- BBQ beats managing retro ROMs 9 out of 10 times. :D
- Seems that indeed you have zips in zips. Which is possibly how things came from PD torrent, right? I really suggest against having them like that... except if you plan to again seed for PD (although the latest TOSEC is not yet there). Thing is, the ROMs are unusable like that, while single-rom-zips are manageable not just by RV, but most emulators too, directly.


Hope all goes well.
Keep us posted.
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 23, 2018, 10:52:27 AM
Ok,

After leaving it overnight, I appear to be roughly where I want to be. I have a TOSEC folder which is based on the (TOSEC v2018-04-01) release and it's 134Gb in size. The issue must have been down to .zips inside of .zips, and yes NLS, it was from the PD torrent. I also decided I'd rather have it as just one level of zipping for the reasons you mentioned, that an emulator can read it like that, it is more as it was intended, and it won't cause any other hassles down the road.

The reason I wanted to go this way, apart from the hassles it can cause (as I found out) is that I wanted to have a crack at updating it myself, I have access to newgroups and stuff and maybe in the end, if I wasn't treading on anyone's feet (and once complete of course) I could maybe upload this version to PD. Of course if it is going to tread on peoples feet and/or upset anyone I won't bother, also as I'm still a stack of ROMs missing from a complete set, this possibility it still miles down the road, and also just an idea for now.

I do have another question about RV though, if you look at my attached screenshot, a lot of ROMs are in yellow, according to RV's key these are listed as "This ROM is missing here but has been found somewhere else, and so can be fixed", I've tried pressing "Fix ROMs" a few times, but nothing happens, how can I get RV to fix these?

Also, after trying a couple of times, I'm thinking there is no way to drag ROMs or folders of ROMs into RV for rebuilding "missing's" like you can with CMP? I'm thinking I would have to put any fixes I do get into the 'ToSort' folder and then press "Scan ROMs", "Find Fixes" and lastly "Fix ROMs" again?

Oh, also also, is there a way to get RV to remove the matched source files once rebuilt, like CMP does? ... Or does it do this anyway? I'm unsure? ... I extracted all the "zips inside zips" files, and that's what rebuilt my set to where it currently is, but the "ToSort" folder now has 1938 files in it that amount to 195Gb. These aren't part of the fully rebuilt set as I've moved that back into the original folder it came from, I'll just point RV to that folder in future instead of moving it around). Is it safe to delete these? Or are these files that we're unused in the rebuild? If so, there's an awful lot?


Anyway, thanks all for the help so far, I'm still not fully there, but I'm a damn sight closer than I was a few days ago. I now need to find a way to fill them "missing's", I will have a look through newsgroups, but other than that, does anyone have any suggestions of where I might be able to get them from? Other than waiting for a complete torrent, which of course has the potential to be not in this format again :\


Regards

Stef



Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on April 23, 2018, 12:09:46 PM
1) I can verify that main TOSEC complete is 140GB and 759463 files. Don't take the file count exactly, as some system files and RV ignored files (there is an ignore list) might be in there. Looks you are not far from a complete main TOSEC. Start posting your miss-dats! (generate reports, last button) :P


2) Seeing your screenshot things are OK, you don't have to press fix again. You just have to learn how to read this. On the LEFT side, green you know, red means you miss ALL roms, yellow means you miss some. NOT that it can be fixed from your current set. On the RIGHT side, you can see that it only shows red and green numbers. THIS is where a yellow would mean "buildable from what you have". Since you only have red and green, you have the best that you can already.


3) No you cannot drag 'n drop. I am not sure about upcoming 3.0 version though (in private beta). You indeed have to put in ToSort (or even in ROMroot if you believe you know where they fit) and rescan (files NOT dats) and fix. It will also fix what is already in ROMroot if something is in wrong position or needs a rename etc.


4) The matched files ARE removed automatically. Both from ToSort and from ROMroot. In ToSort only remain UNMATCHED by any dat files. Also files that are not needed from ROMroot, RV throws them to ToSort to check if you need them in the future. If in ToSort there are no zips-in-zips (that are possibly too deep to check), I would safely delete them. Check if these are files from other TOSEC collections though! (ISO or PIX) If you have the dats, you can check. Not sure of a reason you have so many. Maybe some read-only flag is the problem!? (I always run RV in admin mode, to be sure that I can delete files whatever the NTFS flags and security).


EDIT: Note that if files are protected (and no security level to high enough to delete anyway), the fix step takes WAY longer, since it tries to delete each and fails! This takes place AFTER the actual fixing (the fix bar is all green) when doing the "cleanup" (waiting for "CANCEL" button to turn to "EXIT").

5) For just 6GB missing, I am sure you can get them from here with fixdats. :P


EDIT #2: Since I re-read it and is not clear, I am joking about here being able to fix you missing. :D PM me.
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Maddog on April 23, 2018, 10:01:38 PM
In general, I agree with virtually everything that NLS has posted in the last post and I am also glad that we got ^void on the right track.
A couple of small notes below...

Maddog/tomse
- Good advice on braking things down to easily fix, but I can verify I have tested with full non-ISO and works fine.

I advised that as there were doubts about RomVault working properly, time needed for a full rebuild on ^void's computer and so on. I always do a full rebuild both for the MAIN and for PIX, which is even bigger in size (although less files) and never had a problem with that either.
It should also be made clear that you don't have to put everything unknown or on initial scan inside the "To Sort" folder. RV is clever enough to find the stuff in any of the active paths. For example if you put all Spectrum Games .TZX into Games .TAP folder and press scan, it will detect the wrongly placed roms and when you press fix it will move them to their correct place.
I am mentioning that mostly for ^Void to keep in mind for the next rebuild down the line (since sometime in the future we will have another new release). Just leave everything you have in their folders and scan. Anything moved, renamed or removed will be fixed without you having to move anything manually into To Sort folder.

Regarding torrents, "fixes" etc: please keep all this in other forums. TOSECDEV can't give advice on that. We just rename files found in the wild and do not distribute them in this forum under any circumstances. Please remember that most of those "roms" are still copyrighted.

One thing I would like to mention though is that it's impossible for something as massive as TOSEC-MAIN to fit in a torrent. It is barely possible to make a working .torrent file for the Sinclair ZX Spectrum files only, as it becomes huge and most trackers and clients won't accept it at all. Just imagine trying to do the same over the entire TOSEC. That's why they had to zip the zips over at PD.
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 24, 2018, 08:38:48 AM
All,

Still wading through all this, I'm unzipping all the files that were left over in the ToSort folder, as suspected most of these do seem to be .zip files in .zip files. I'm up to 'Nintendo' so not far from the end now.

When this is done, I have read that a lot of the fixes for the latest release of TOSEC can be found in the MAME Software List set, which I have. To save wasting peoples time with fixes when I may be able to fix a lot of it myself, am I able to scan for fixes in RV without it removing said files when it matches them? Or may I have to manually wade through and handpick what RV may be looking for? I cannot find any settings in RV to control this?


Again, thanks for all the help with this...


Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on April 24, 2018, 10:26:20 AM
There is no setting yet for this. I hear there is in 3.0 beta. Not sure.


I think I would just copy few systems at a time from MAME Software Lists to ToSort and parse them, clean ToSort from remains. Then again and again. Break in 5 parts is enough I think to easily go through everything as MAME SL is around 55GB zipped.

Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: ^VoiD on April 24, 2018, 01:20:25 PM
Thanks NLS,

I'll set about doing this later



Stef
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Tim2460 on April 29, 2018, 06:08:17 PM
Sorry about the Whole Zip in Zips mess Void ,))

It has upset some people true ... but i can't see other easy solutions to make it manegeable...

For my part i keep several ToseC Tree Directories, zipped and Zipped/Zipped....
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Maddog on April 30, 2018, 06:43:01 AM
In all reality, TOSEC has grown too massive to be manageable using torrents, so I guess zips within zips was unavoidable for PD distribution. Most torrent trackers and most clients simply can't handle properly the number of files. I guess it never occured to the creators that it might be used for something like that xD.

Given the chance, I'd also like to thank you Tim for the hard work you have done making these torrents over several years and making TOSEC content available more widely. :)
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on April 30, 2018, 07:50:40 AM
A couple of systems need two or three torrents each.
A couple of systems needs a torrent each.
All the rest can fit in a single torrent.


I guess 10 torrents for TOSEC (non-ISO) is ok and manageable.
Not sure if this is more work for Tim though than zipping entire huge folders (which I guess is done by some batch).
Of course that said, torrent creation can also be done with a script.
Both things are CPU and disk hungry although having double TOSEC is MORE disk hungry I guess (including for everyone seeding AND using TOSEC).

So if somebody asked my opinion, it is pretty obvious, but since Tim manages these things, it's his call and I understand.


Actually I cannot even post in PD (muted for some unknown reason - funny how at least one admin played Pontius Pilate perfectly), so I guess my vote counts even less than normal. :D

Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: Tim2460 on May 11, 2018, 10:37:48 AM
A couple of systems need two or three torrents each.
A couple of systems needs a torrent each.
All the rest can fit in a single torrent.


I guess 10 torrents for TOSEC (non-ISO) is ok and manageable.
Not sure if this is more work for Tim though than zipping entire huge folders (which I guess is done by some batch).
Of course that said, torrent creation can also be done with a script.
Both things are CPU and disk hungry although having double TOSEC is MORE disk hungry I guess (including for everyone seeding AND using TOSEC).

So if somebody asked my opinion, it is pretty obvious, but since Tim manages these things, it's his call and I understand.


Actually I cannot even post in PD (muted for some unknown reason - funny how at least one admin played Pontius Pilate perfectly), so I guess my vote counts even less than normal. :D



I can't remember well the number of files i used to use on my last split release but it was 18 torrents for just the C64 games part....
Making just one streesed the PD webserver itself as it has to manage over 5meg attachment for the first time...

Sure it can be done by hand and split in 30 torrents ... but not by me... The worst was to split in 20 000 or 50 000 files pack from the c64 games tree... I didntt and still don't really see how to script that easily...

And you have to cope with all the people saying you can't make a torent, or that it crashed their seedbox... or that i forgot the Whole amiga part etc etc etc ...

Zipping/Zipping has cut the crap by at least 90%...
Title: Re: CMPro, TOSEC and one huge headahce
Post by: NLS on May 11, 2018, 10:44:09 AM
Well the last argument is fair. :D  Cutting crap is major. I feel you.


Still a smart script could get things automated (it could even handle splitting folders "up to" 20k files). I might look into this.



(and thanks for reminding me were I posted that thing about splitting torrent again :D )