Author Topic: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms  (Read 5087 times)

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« on: April 03, 2011, 05:27:40 PM »
Hi,

i've finished my first Enterprise 64/128 - Games Datfile : Enterprise 64 & 128 - Games (TOSEC-v2011-04-03_CM).dat

This one is not merged with the old TOSEC-SET: Enterprise 64 & 128 - Games (TOSEC-v2004-03-13_CM).dat

I don't know, if i have made everything right with the datfile....
So, please check it.... ::)

I've uploaded the Dat & Roms to Megaupload.
Who gets the Dat & Roms  ???
My new Set :
Quote
---------------------------------------

Active Sets           1732/1732
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0
·Others               1732/1732
·BIOS                 0/0

Active ROMs           5264/5264
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0
·Others               5264/5264
·bad dumps            0/0
·no dumps             0/0
·verified dumps       0/0
·BIOS                 0/0

Active CHDs           0/0
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0
·Others               0/0
·bad dumps            0/0
·no dumps             0/0
·verified dumps       0/0
·BIOS                 0/0

Active Samples        0/0
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0

Active Bytes          81mb/81mb

The old TOSEC-SET :
Quote
---------------------------------------

Active Sets           49/49
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0
·Others               49/49
·BIOS                 0/0

Active ROMs           112/112
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0
·Others               112/112
·bad dumps            0/0
·no dumps             0/0
·verified dumps       0/0
·BIOS                 0/0

Active CHDs           0/0
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0
·Others               0/0
·bad dumps            0/0
·no dumps             0/0
·verified dumps       0/0
·BIOS                 0/0

Active Samples        0/0
·Parents              0/0
·Clones               0/0

Active Bytes          2mb/2mb
« Last Edit: April 03, 2011, 06:19:36 PM by Vicman »


GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline PandMonium

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1315
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2011, 09:34:51 PM »
Hey, you can pm me or TKaos the link (i think he worked or was thinking on doing it on system but might be wrong).
If you prefer i can give you a place to upload that too. Your dat is a complete replacement of the older one? Didn't got it right.

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2011, 09:53:34 PM »
O.K. , i wil send you and TKaos the link ;-)
And you can also PM me, where i can also upload the stuff.

about your question :
Yes, it's a replacement.
The old roms are very strange in my opinion......(only a few works in an emulator, 'cause of missing extensions)
Some of them are matched with my new set, but all (or many) are totaly wrong named.
So, i've decided to make a new set ;-)


EDIT :
Link is send....do you got it ? (can't find it in my Message "outbox")....forgot to enable "Save a copy in my outbox"  ::)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2011, 10:10:42 PM by Vicman »
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline TKaos

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2011, 11:03:42 PM »
I'll check the DATfile tomorrow and send you a PM when I'm done. :P

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2011, 08:49:45 PM »
New DAT's are created.
Enterprise is now splitted in :
- Games
-- [BAS]
--- Multipart
--- Single
-- [COM]
--- Multipart
--- Single
-- [DTF]
-- [IMG]

DAT's & roms are uploaded to MU.
PM's will be send to PandMonium & TKaos

Cheers,
Vicman

GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2011, 04:32:00 PM »
DAT's and roms are updated again, and has "Final" status !
PM's are send.
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2011, 10:26:50 AM »
Hi again,

i will update the "DAT's - spelling" a litte bit.

Example :
Tank Wars (1990)(Kiss, Laszlo)(hu)(PD)[requires zrom][basic].zip

[requires zrom] will be changed to [req zrom] ...... the shorter the name the better ;-)

also: (Kiss, Laszlo) will be changed to (Kiss Laszlo)....without the ,

reason : many autors of the Enterprise programs are hungarian. And this is the right hungarian spelling for the names !

thanks to Gruby for this suggest ;-)


GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline PandMonium

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1315
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2011, 12:38:33 PM »
Actually that may not be really correct and is something we need to clear out. The rules state that person names should be (last name, name) in publisher field. So a game by "John Rambo" would be cataloged with "(Rambo, John)".

I've been told before by someone that in a few countries / languages / cultures names are normally inverted and persons write in the first place the surname and then the first name. Someone with that knowledge, looking at a set with "name1 name2" would put it as "name2, name1" when they actually should be "name1, name2", right? Some east european countries, chinese and such do that.

Anyway in your example you just got ride of the comma saying that it was the "right spelling in hungarian". What do you mean with that? In any language, names don't have commas so in every the right spelling is without any. Still, we are cataloging software and need to keep a coherent structure between them all, we can not use what is "usual" in each language because it will be broken and in many cases people renaming it don't have a clue if the name is hungarian, bulgarian, portuguese or other and can not know all the details used around the world :)

Lets just imagine we are some weird organization cataloging people around the world, to this end we use a "standardized form" where we ask for person details: "name: ? ; lastname: ?" and people have to put it there, even if normally in their countries they are usually just asked for a single "name" field.

From previous discussions on this subject the biggest problem is defining what is or should be used in "surname", it is a really hard task for renamers to figure out which part is a surname and which is the name when more than 2 or 3 names appear, especially in unknown languages for them (that's why i think we should use last name [last word] and name with the rest).
Other problems are the inverted cases (what is the last and the first) as well as people using just a word (last name i suppose).

This is one more subject that will be debated forever and never cleared out on TNC doc :P

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2011, 07:17:00 PM »
Hi PandMonium,

i think i've got it  ;)
Thanks for clearing this point.

So, i don't change the names in the DAT's.

There is still one question :
How to handle words/names like in this DATs :   (meaning the language specific "special characters")

Examples :
Középkorjáték (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD)[basic]
Szókitaláló (1996)(RLS)(hu)(PD)[req zrom][basic]
Amöba (1995)(MuMuS Soft)(hu)(PD)[req zrom][basic].zip

Is it correct [or only o.k.]  to use them (á, é, ó, ö, etc...)   in the DAT-Filename ?

 
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 08:56:28 PM by Vicman »
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline PandMonium

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1315
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2011, 12:20:47 PM »
Nop, only low ascii chars should be used in setnames (the zips). That might be a problem if we change romnames when the files/roms are not containers but we haven't decided anything.

In few words, non ascii support in setnames and even romnames creates major problems due to a combination of factors such as OSs without support for UTF-8 or when your native charset doesn't have those kind of chars (ã ç), datfiles that don't support it (deprecated mode) and the alternative XML ones are not created correctly by the existent tools, existent apps and libraries to rename/rebuild/rezip that have problems with that kind of things.

We have discussed that and need to do a series of test cases to understand how to avoid those problems, if you want to read a bit more search for XML dats around here.
Meanwhile don't use it, you have to strip out accents and all those, if it is not a latin alphabet (asian, hebrew, arabic, russian, ...) names need to be romanized.

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2011, 07:26:09 PM »
Thanks PandMonium, i'll rename them  :P

EDIT :
DATs are renamed and uploaded to the ftp  ;)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 08:10:34 PM by Vicman »
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline Cassiel

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • Email
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2011, 12:02:20 PM »
Vicman - I haven't forgotten about you, just insanely busy with work this week. Will be around more from this weekend....

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2011, 11:06:43 AM »
Hi Cassiel, PandMonium & Co
i'm back working on the Enterprise DAT's.
Hope to finish it soon  :P

@Cassiel :
You've told me to rename the "Single" Gamefiles.....
Quote:  " For the single image DATs, the 'rom' field needs to be the full name (i.e. same as name/description) "

now the Question is :
Is it absolutely required to have the full "name-description" in the Filename ?

in example :
Zipped file is : 4-es Jatek (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD)[basic].zip
unzipped is : 4-es Jatek (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD)[basic].BAS

Now , the problem is, when using the Frontend Gamebase, to autostart the Game,
 the words inside the [ ] "square clip" (in german : eckige Klammer) , will be ignored.....
....and the [ ] itself, too.

So, the Name wich will be typed automaticly is :
4-es Jatek (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD).BAS
instead
4-es Jatek (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD)[basic].BAS

And so the Game will not run in gamebase....

So, i would like to rename the gamefilename without the [ ]
Zipped file is : 4-es Jatek (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD)[basic].zip
unzipped is : 4-es Jatek (19xx)(-)(hu)(PD).BAS

would this be o.k. ? or is this a "No Go" for TOSEC-Naming ?
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2011, 02:19:56 PM »
Again me,

the problem with the unzipped filename is history  ;D
We found a way to start them without deleting the [ ] in the filename in Gamebase EP  8)
So, i will now conitnue the work on the DAT's.

- Vicman

« Last Edit: October 07, 2011, 07:54:03 AM by Vicman »
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.

Offline Vicman

  • TOSEC Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • Vicman's VIC-20 Games on YouTube
Re: Enterprise 64 & 128 : New Dat & Roms
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2011, 09:32:25 PM »
Good News :
Enterprise 64 & 128 (Games) is final  :P
« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 09:48:19 PM by Vicman »
GameBase-Projects:Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
eCC-Imagepacks:Vic20,N64, Enterprise, Philips VG 5000, G7000, G74000 etc.